A National System for the Protection of Nature

November 19, 2000

The National System of Protected Areas of Cuba comprehends zones of ecological importance in several categories and reaches a 30% approximately of the national territory.

The natural and ecological reserves , the national parks, the natural relevant landscapes, refugees of fauna and special flowers regions , among other elements of great importance , cover the 6,6 per cent of the archipelago.

Some 80 sites are among the classification of national importance , other 19 have local connotation and seven are considered regions of sustained development , according to specialists of Science, Technology and Environment Ministry (CITMA)

Because of his high grade protection and environment meaning , UNESCO has declared Biosphere Reserve , the Guanahacabibes zone and the Rosario Mountains , both in Pinar del Río and the Bacxonao Park and the Toa crests in the East side.

The four mountain chains of the country constitute the seven special regions in the sustained development in the protected area net: Guaniguanico (West ) and Guamuhaya (Center) .

The other are: Sierra Maestra and the orography system at Sagua Baracoa in the East , Ciénaga de Zapata, Center , the Canarreos keys and Sabana Camaguey.

There are also 14 national parks , 30 ecological and natural reserves ,11 fauna refugees , two natural landscapes and 11 flower reserves that count with the greatest indicators of bio diversity and endemic origin.

But beyond the quantity, the most outstanding is that for its size and biological isolation , Cuba is the main center of single species in the Antilles world , since they have endemic character , the 51 per cent of the natural flora, composed by more than six thousands species.


Previously available on the Internet at : http://www.ain.cubaweb.cu/english/ecology/ecologyfront.htm